Post

Go

First start by installing it and creating a hello world app by following the instructions here.

Then follow the HTTP server example.

1
2
3
mkdir hello-world
cd hello-world
go mod init example/hello-world

create and edit hello-world.go as per the tutorial.

1
go run .

Yep, that worked!

Visit localhost to see it.

Skip routing and database, and get into templates.

The next thing I looked at is json handling and then I think I know enough for now.

I like that it’s so simple to build a simple web server with the basics built in (templates, json, etc). It’s scalable, performant, secure, etc.

To me it looks like a functional language to me, but it’s not.

It also looks a lot like Node.js.

I’ve tried Node.js before, but never used it seriously. From what I’ve seen in this quick intro, and by doing a quick Google, next time I’m tempted to use Node.js, I’ll try Go instead. It seems like it’s better in many ways.

This post is licensed under CC BY 4.0 by the author.